Etymological Mapping

Hailing from New York, I would have thought that my town of origin was pretty etymologically transparent. Unlike Philadelphia, a town that many a dilettante feels compelled to translate to the common folk at every possible opportunity (yeah, we get it, its “the City of Sibling Love”), New York never seemed to be hiding much.

And then this atlas proved me oh so wrong and simple minded. Little did I know I was born in the New Wild Boar Village, went to college in the Land of the Chaste One, and that everyone in my family older than myself and my brother and younger sister was born in the Land of Springs.

Voilá:
etymworld

or for example, this region:
0unknown

Just something to stew on for the day…
Until next time…

The World is Yrs,
Sunshine Superboy

One Response to “Etymological Mapping”

  1. I was in “Footsteps of the Black One” and I didn’t even know it!

Leave a Reply

