The Palestinian Archipelago

I would like to propose a paradigmatic shift from geo-politics to aqua-politics. Who’s with me??

cloast_1236767175

One of my relatives sent me this Land in Fragments piece, which compliments the maps pretty well:

I haven’t been able to bring myself to blog about my friend Tristan who is in critical condition after being shot in the head by Israeli police a month ago. 640_tristan_face_by_alisa_smith I still kinda can’t, but there are so many great fundraisers that folks are organizing everywhere and I want to at least give a plug to support those and to check out any of the many many blogs and websites that are keeping us updated on his condition as well as the broader political conditions that brought Tristan to Palestine in solidarity.

palestina

Strange Maps has some words from the author of the Archipel de Palestine pictured above:

this map of L’archipel de Palestine orientale (‘The Archipelago of Eastern Palestine’) “is not about ‘drowning’ or ‘flooding’ the Israeli population, nor dividing territories along ethnic lines, even less a suggestion of how to resolve the conflict,” gasps Julien Bousac, the Frenchman who created this map.

“Maybe posting the full map would help to take it for what it is, i.e. an illustration of the West Bank’s ongoing fragmentation based on the (originally temporary) A/B/C zoning which came out of the Oslo process, still valid until now. To make things clear, areas ‘under water’ strictly reflect C zones, plus the East Jerusalem area, i.e. areas that have officially remained under full Israeli control and occupation following the Agreements. These include all Israeli settlements and outposts as well as Palestinian populated areas.”

Mr Boussac took advantage of the resulting archipelago effect “to use typical tourist maps codes (mainly icons) to sharpen the contrast between the fantasies raised by seemingly paradise-like islands and the Palestinian Territories grim reality.” The map does have a strong vacationy vibe to it – but whether that is because of the archipelago-shaped subject matter, or due to the cheerful colour scheme is a matter for debate.

Personally, I like the little ferry routes. Now what was that you were saying about a renewed call to politicized piracy on the high seas?

03somaliaxlarge1

The World=Yours,
Sunshïne Superboy

ps- while we’ve got island paradises on the brain, I am positive it will get so much better, but I just saw the pilot episode of LOST (I know, homeboy is beaucoup behind the times!!!) and I was not that impressed. Still, because I trust all of you enthusiasts, I’m giving it a shot (and because that guy who was the hot older brother from Party of Five is guaranteed to get cuter as the show progresses, yes?)lost-season-1

One Response to “The Palestinian Archipelago”

  1. Do keep watching LOST! I’d say give it at least 4-5 more episodes to see if it hooks you. Some weak episodes now and then, but overall it only gets exponentially more mind-blowing as it goes on. Namaste…

Leave a comment