New York City, a “Little” League of Nations

This crafty map portrays the home of the United Nations as a veritable “league of nations”, with pockets of diverse peoples splayed across New York’s five boroughs.

as always, click the map to zoom in. (this map has a double zoom, which is key to enjoying its awesomeness!)
"new york ethnic majorities"

As traditional ethnic neighborhoods like “Chinatown” and “Little Italy” divide and multiply, New York City in the 21st century has been a boon of a greater multi-ethnic populace- indeed, ethnic majority zipcodes, a hallmark of American Urbanism, give us a new sense of New York as a City of Nations.

This little ethno-graph maps these demographics, while poking fun at the iconographic architecture of many peoples’ countries of origin.

What would Woodrow Wilson think of this global mixing in everyday life?

Up Up and Away old boy,
Sunshine Superboy

5 Responses to “New York City, a “Little” League of Nations”

  1. Strange, no India on this map, but I know there’s lots of Indians in New York…

  2. Interesting. But the name of my country is Colombia and my flag doesn’t look like the one you used on the map.

    • Sunshine Superboy Says:

      I’m right there with ya, Antonio. I did not make the map. Its a repost, and I can’t edit it either! The whole “Columbia/ Colombia” thing drives me nuts. Oy vey, North Americans… (my family came to the US from the Caribbean)

  3. أيت ملول…

    […]New York City, a “Little” League of Nations « Black Maps: science + politics + comics + maps[…]…

Leave a comment